Loyal E. Horton Dining Awards

Update for 2020 Dining Award Participants:
After continuing to work on securing a judging team, NACUFS has made the decision to postpone judging due to a recent spike in COVID-19 cases throughout the state of Michigan. We will be reexamining the state’s regulations after January 1st, 2021 and will resume preparing for the judging process. We understand that the pandemic has continued to cause frustrations, and the continuous delays have been disappointing. We would like to remind you that we truly appreciate the hard work that you put into your entries, and they will be reviewed as soon as it is possible – we are looking forward to it! We will continue to keep participants posted.

Update for 2021 Awards:
We have decided to pause the dining awards for the upcoming year (2021). Information for the following year will be posted on our website as it gets a bit closer. We sincerely appreciate your patience during this time and look forward to celebrating your achievements in 2022.

Collegiate foodservice is a demanding profession worthy of recognition. In college and university
culinary arts, the ultimate professional tribute is a NACUFS Loyal E. Horton Dining Award.

Named for a NACUFS founder, past president and highly regarded innovator, the Loyal E. Horton
Dining Awards celebrate exemplary menus, presentations, special event planning, and new dining
concepts, and provide an avenue for sharing ideas and creative presentations in campus dining

Why Enter?

Competing for this prestigious award will help instill a sense of pride and team spirit with your
dining staff. You will gain national recognition from your peers and be able to market an awardwinning dining program to your customers. With your entry, you will share your creativity and
knowledge with other foodservice professionals with your entry.

Each year’s winning contest entries are displayed at the NACUFS national conference and award
winners are publicly recognized at a luncheon culminating with the announcement of the Grand
Prize winners. Grand Prize winners also receive recognition with a feature article in NACUFS’
Campus Dining Today®.

With classifications for every size program and multiple categories covering residential dining,
catering, and retail sales, there is sure to be an opportunity for you to compete in this highly
regarded dining contest. 
Enter this prestigious competition and gain acclaim for your program!

Categories | Rules

Because there are many facets to collegiate dining (and institutions vary in size and budget), the Loyal E. Horton Dining Awards Contest offers six major categories, each with awards for small, medium, and large institutions.

The categories for the contest are:

  1. Residential Dining Concepts
  2. Residential Dining Facility
  3. Residential Dining—Special Event
  4. Retail Sales—Single Concept/Multiple Concepts/Marketplace
  5. Catering—Special Event
  6. Catering—Online Menu (Electronic Entries Only)

If you have questions, contact NACUFS at (517) 332-2494.