Sustainability Awards

Update for the Sustainability Awards:
Thank you for your interest in the Sustainability Awards. We have decided to pause the awards for the upcoming year (2021). Information for the following year will be posted on our website as it gets a bit closer. We sincerely appreciate your patience during this time and look forward to celebrating your achievements in 2022.

The 2020 Sustainability award grand prize winner is:

University of Oregon

The 2020 Procurement Practices award winners are:

Gold: Michigan State University
Silver: University of Florida

The 2020 Waste Management award winners are:

Gold: University of Oregon
Silver: Vanderbilt University
Bronze: Boston College

The 2020 Outreach and Education award winners are:

Gold: Michigan State University
Gold: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Silver: Stony Brook University
Bronze: University of Maryland


The NACUFS Sustainability Awards annually recognize and honor member institutions that have demonstrated outstanding leadership in the promotion and implementation of environmental sustainability, specifically as it relates to campus dining operations. The NACUFS Sustainability Awards support the globally accepted triple bottom line philosophy, a method of evaluating operational performance by measuring financial success as well as environmental sustainability and social responsibility—also known as “people, planet, profit.”

With the creation of these unique awards, NACUFS leads the foodservice industry in recognizing the pivotal role that dining services play in the overall sustainability goals of a campus and the daunting challenge that the dining services staff face in satisfying customers and generating revenue while simultaneously minimizing environmental impact.

The annual awards contest will recognize excellence in sustainable campus dining with a gold, silver, and bronze award in each of five operational categories: